RSS IconRSS Print IconPrint Text Size Plus icon Minus icon

Canadian flag flying from a building's dome


Local Government

There are three levels of government in Canada:

1. Federal Government

The Federal Government is responsible for things that affect the whole country, like citizenship and immigration, national defence and trade with other countries. Visit the Parliament of Canada website and discover how Canadians govern themselves.

2. Provincial Government

The Provincial government is responsible for things like education, health care and highways. Learn about how the Ontario provincial government looks after its residents through its programs and services.

3. Municipal Government

Municipal (local) oversee the cities, towns and villages that make up their area. They are responsible for firefighting, city streets and other local matters. Visit the Association of Municipalities in Ontario website governments to learn about the differences between "lower tier" and "upper tier" municipalities.

About Local Government

Your local or municipal government in Northumberland County provides many services that affect you every day.

A few of these services are:

  • Garbage Collection/ Bag Tags
  • Recycling Collection
  • Community and Social Services
  • Long Term Care
  • Emergency Planning
  • Economic Development
  • Tourism
  • Job Search & Training

Government in Your Community

Depending on where you live in Northumberland, you will be served by the local government for your town, village or community. Visit these individual websites to find out what each area government offers: